Physics PhD

Doctoral School of Physics

History of the Physics Doctoral School

The Doctoral School of Physics of Eötvös Loránd University was founded in 1994. The Institute of Physics at Eötvös Loránd University, ranked highly on the various international lists (like CHE), employs almost one hundred highly qualified permanent staff members working in various branches of experimental and theoretical physics.

In addition, the Institute collaborates with the equally well-qualified research staff of the institutes of the Hungarian Academy of Sciences. Thanks to our supervisors coming from these institutions, our students can have access to the largest international research facilities (LHC at CERN, RHIC at BNL, LIGO, etc.) in particle physics, astronomy and astrophysics. We collaborate with several additional research institutes and universities outside Hungary, and regularly have visitors from abroad doing research or giving courses here. Thus our students have many opportunities to join  international research activities and establish professional contacts early in their career.

Fromer heads of the Doctoral School:

  • 1993-2000: Péter Szépfalusy professor
  • 2001-2010: Zalán Horváth professor
  • 2011-2012: Ferenc Csikor professor
  • 2013-2015: László Palla professor
  • 2016-2018: Tamás Tél professor
  • 2019-2023: Jenő Gubicza professor

Structure and leadership of the Doctoral School

Head of the Doctoral School: Prof. Gergely Palla
email: uh . etle . ktt @ ylegreg.allap

The training is performed in five programs:

Materials Science and Solid State Physics
Head: Prof. István Groma
email: uh . etle . latem @ amorg
Particle and Nuclear Physics
Head: Prof. Zoltán Trócsányi
email: uh . etle . ktt @ natloz.iynascort
Statistical Physics, Biological Physics and Physics of Quantum Systems
Head: Prof. Gábor Horváth
email: uh . etle . ogara @ hg
Physics Education (website)
Head: Prof. Quang Chinh Nguyen
email: uh . etle . ktt @ hnihc.gnauq.neyugn
Astronomy and Space Physics
Head: Prof. Kristóf Petrovay
email: uh . etle . ortsa @ yavorteP.K

Council of the doctoral school

Core members

Documents of the doctoral school (for members of the Council only)


The administrator of the doctoral school:
Enikő Kis, email: uh . etle . ktt @ okine.sik
Tel.: +36-1-372-2500 / 6146

Information for PhD students and supervisors

Announcements, calls for proposals

Doctoral Regulations of the Doctoral School of Physics

Doctoral Regulations of Eötvös Loránd University

List of courses

Research topics

Admission requirements

Stipendium Hungaricum

Reports of PhD students

Instructions for the comprehensive exam

Complex examination topics

Website of the central PhD administration staff of the Faculty

Data of the Doctoral School of Physics on the website „”